The Number One African City in Service Delivery, Innovation and Good Governance

Scam Alert!!!!!!!!

Dear Prospective Bidders

Please be aware that there are individuals calling Service Providers in the name of the Municipal Manager and/or Municipal Officials or Municipal Committees, requesting money for their Bids to be processed. Kindly be aware that this is a scam. You are encouraged to report such to the South African Police Services (SAPS).

Be Alert!!!!!!


Municipal Manager
Steve Tshwete Local Municipality
Tel: 013 249 7000
Fax: 013 243 2550

Load shedding status

Possible load shedding hours for today

About Us| Council Structure| Municipal Structure| Municipal Services | Community Services | Geographic Info| Contact Us

Click HERE to send a messages of condolences

Unknown or unclaimed direct bank deposits

- Register Unallocated deposits until June 2014
- Application form
Submission of Industry / Businesses integrated Waste Management Plan



In 1994 Middelburg and Mhluzi, as well as Hendrina and Kwazamokuhle amalgamated to form the Transitional Local Councils. In 2001, a new dispensation for Local Government came into being, whereby the country was demarcated so that every piece of land fell within the jurisdiction of a municipality. The number of local governments were also reduced and the Transitional Local Councils of Middelburg and Hendrina, as well as some smaller towns, were amalgamated. A new municipality was formed, namely Steve Tshwete Local Municipality. The municipal area covers approximately 3993 square kilometers and includes the following towns:

Middelburg, Mhluzi, Hendrina, Kwazamokuhle, Rietkuil, Pullenshope, Komati, Presidentsrus, Naledi, Lesedi, Kranspoort, Blinkpan, Koornfontein, Kwamakalane, Doornkop.

This is a category B municipality comprising of 58 councillors of whom 29 are ward representatives and 29 proportional representatives. The executive Mayor assisted by 6 members of the Mayoral Committee, the Speaker and the Chief Whip heads the municipality. The Municipal Manager heads the administration.


The population is estimated at 229 831 citizens in terms of 2011 census. The majority lives in the town of Middelburg and Mhluzi whilst others reside in smaller towns - Hendrina, Kwazamokuhle and mining and other villages as well as in vast rural areas.





Legislation & Documents


Speeches & Statements





Request For Proposals

Agenda & Minutes

Environmental and Solid Waste Campaign

Events Campaign

Online Podcast

Media Release



Property Valuations


Documents for download are in Acrobat (PDF) format. Click the icon to download.

Time of use (Tou) tariffs (2019/2020)

Time of use (Tou) tariffs (2020/2021)

Central Supplier Database

Pay Points